Community Contra Dances, English Country Dances and related events (venues at the bottom):

Contra Dances

  • Wed Jun 1, 2016 7:30 PMJoyride Contra Dance with caller David Kaynor
  • Sat Jun 4, 2016 7:30 PMThe Stage Crew with David Kaynor
  • Fri Jun 10, 2016 7:30 PMContra in the Couve! - Rich Goss / The Quarks
  • Sat Jun 11, 2016 7:30 PMwith Riffraff
  • Wed Jun 15, 2016 7:00 PMNewberg 3rd Wednesday Contra Dance
  • Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:30 PMThid Saturday Contra: Susie Kending and Eric Curl calling; music by Jigsaw
  • Sat Jun 25, 2016Tarka Ayers with Red Crow
  • Fri Jul 8, 2016 7:30 PMContra in the Couve! - Tarka Ayres / Contra Swings
  • Sat Jul 9, 2016Rich Goss with
  • Sat Jul 23, 2016Ric Goldman with
AEC v1.0.4

English Country Dances

  • Fri May 27, 2016 7:30 PMECD at BWT; David Macemon w/ Laura Kuhlman, Danielle Goldman, Heather Pinney
  • Fri Jun 3, 2016 7:30 PMECD at BWT; Cynthia Stenger w/ George Penk, Leslie Hirsch, Carl Thor
  • Sun Jun 5, 2016 3:00 PMAdvanced ECD - David Macemon with George Penk, Leslie Hirsch, Heather Pinney
  • Fri Jun 10, 2016 7:30 PMECD at BWT; Andrea Nettleton w/ Leslie Hirsch, Esther Saulie-Simek, Daniel Goldman, Sue Songer
  • Fri Jun 17, 2016 7:30 PMECD at BWT; Brooke Friendly w/ Laura Kuhlman, Alan Rutherford, Jon Neff, Carl Thor
  • Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:30 PMECD at BWT; Ric Goldman w/ Sean Nolan, Danielle Goldman, Sue Songer
  • Fri Jul 1, 2016 7:30 PMECD at BWT; Erik Weberg w/ TBA
  • Fri Jul 8, 2016 7:30 PMECD at BWT; David Macemon w/ TBA
  • Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:30 PMECD at BWT; Cynthia Stenger w/ TBA
  • Fri Jul 22, 2016 7:30 PMECD at BWT; Nan Evans w/ TBA
AEC v1.0.4

Special Dances & Events

  • Fri May 27, 2016Northwest Folklife Festival
  • Fri Sep 2, 2016Northwest Passage Dance Camp - REGISTRATION NOW OPEN - click for details
  • Sat Nov 5, 2016Portland English Country Dance Ball - registration req'd, click for details
AEC v1.0.4
To see the complete PCDC two-month dance schedule, check out the current issue of Footnotes, the PCDC newsletter.

Please be aware of PCDC’s Safe Dancing Policy.

 

Admission Prices

Regular PCDC dances

All English dances and the
2nd, 4th, and 5th Saturday
contra dances
$9 – Non-memnbers
$7 – Members
$6 – Students and Seniors
$1 off on contra dances
before 7:30
PCDC Family Dance $6 per adult, $5 per child,
$20 maximum per family
Other Portland-area Contra Dances

1st Wednesday Joyride Dance $7, $6 students
1st Saturday Contra Dance $8, $6 students
2nd Friday Dance in the Couve $7, $5 students and
children under 12
3rd Saturday Contra Dance $8, $6 seniors and students
Dance Times

Unless otherwise listed, English dances are 7:30-10:30pm; Contra dances are 8-11pm with a beginner lesson at 7:30pm.

 

Venues:

BWT Burlingame Water Tower Dance Hall
English country dancing every Friday evening
Dance 7:30–10:30 pm
8936 SW 17th Ave, Portland, OR 97219 (map)
From the North: head South on I-5. Take the Barbur Blvd. exit, Number 296A, and turn right. Turn right onto SW Spring Garden Street. Turn right onto 17th Avenue and look for the dance hall near the top of the hill.
From the South: head North on I-5. Take the Taylors Ferry exit, number 295, and keep left at the fork in the ramp. Merge onto Taylors Ferry, turn left on 17th Avenue and look for the dance hall near the top of the hill.
No street shoes permitted on the dance floor.
FCC Fulton Community Center
Contra dancing every Saturday evening
Beginner’s session 7:30–8:00pm
Dance 8:00–11:00pm
68 SW Miles Street, Portland, OR 97219 (map)
Off of Barbur, at the traffic light just East of Terwilliger
HDG Hazel Dell Grange
Contra dancing on the 2nd Friday
Beginner’s session 7:30–8:00pm
Dance 8:00–11:00pm
7509 Northeast Hazel Dell Avenue, Vancouver, WA (map)
NH Norse Hall 111 NE 11th Street, Portland OR (map)
PH Polish Hall
Contra dancing on the 1st Wednesday
Dance 7:30–10 pm
3916 N Interstate Ave, Portland OR (map)